• bloesem design

« Meet American dad Joel living in Portland, Oregon | Main | Meet American mom Brooke living in Dallas »

Meet Danish Mom Lisbeth living in a small town in Denmark

Monday, 1 March 2010 by Irene Hoofs

My name is Lisbeth and I am 30 years old. I live in Denmark with my 
family of five. We live in a tiny colorful house located 
30 km from Copenhagen, Denmark. 
My daughter Alma is six years old and my son Storm is four years 
old and our baby Martha was born on the 15. Of January 2010. All of my kids were born in our own home.


Alma and Storm are attending a Waldorf school and I am enrolled in the Waldorf early childhood teacher program and I also make clothes and waldorf dolls for small children and work on my blog.


Currently I am staying home with little Martha. As a family, we strive to live our lives according to the Waldorf philosophy and our own non-conventional ideas.


What kind of house do you live in? Are you and your family happy 
where you live or is there anything you terrible 

Our house is small, but cozy. I love colors and being creative, so 
everywhere there are flowered wallpaper, soft cushions and 
handcrafted furniture in bright colors. I always keep my children in 
mind, when it comes to our home, a child loving environment. I 
believe, that they should be able to freely unfold themselves in our 
home. We do not lack anything in our home....I love my home.


Do you like to spend time on decorating your home and the children’s room?

I love to decorate our home and this is what I spend a lot of time 
on. I want to create a lovely home for us all. A place for relaxation 
and creativity.


Our home can be quite messy at times, due to all our craft projects 
such as knitting, sewing, painting etc. -and not to mention yarn,fabrics and beeswax colors all over. But it is a nice and creative kind of mess!


What places in your new neighborhood do you like to go to for shopping?

We are very privileged to have an organic farm near our house,  where we shop for milk and veggies. We usually ride our bikes or walk  to the farm and the children love spending many hours bouncing around  in the hay or to feed the cows. It is one of my favorite places.


It is such a beautiful place and I feel so blessed every time we are there. Imagine, one could live so close to  such a wonderful place.


What's it like to raise a child in your town?

Our town is very small and quiet. It is a nice place to raise children because we live in such close proximity to nature and the sea.


Can you mention some of your ‘how-to-raise-your-kid’ values?

The most important for me in raising my children is, that we as parents are role models, that we strive to do our best so our children will follow through example. I always try to keep in mind, that my children imitate everything that I do. Instead of showering them with lectures of wrong and right, I show them through example.


What kind of DIY projects do you like to do with your children?

We love to paint, sew and knit. My daughter Alma is like me very creative and we love to make things together.


What do you do with all the projects your children made at home or in school?

I love the things the kids make. We have walls with all their paintings. I think it is a great way to show the kids that the things they make are appreciated.

Any nice decoration ideas how to hang them, keep them or use them as presents?

We frame the drawings and paintings in colorful frames.


What are all time favorite books for the children?

I love to read books and some of our favorites are by the Swedish author Astrid Lindgren. We love Pippi Longstocking .


Are you a ‘cook’ or ‘food’ lover or both?

Both, even though my husband is the one doing most of the cooking in our house. He is a much better cook than I am. The kids love to join him and help him with the cooking. I  believe that they eat many more vegetables because they  prepare them.

What are absolutely forbidden candy or drinks in your house?

They can have candy once in a while, but not so often. We'd rather bake a cake or make our own ice cream. I try  however not to be too strict. It is bad in the long run I think. Soda/ soft drinks however, they have not tasted yet.


Are their pets in your household?

When I was growing up I had many pets and I think it's important for children to have a pet to care for.  We have cat, but some day we’d like a dog as well.




  • SHARE it
  • PIN it
10 Bloesem loves comments

The comments to this entry are closed.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Meet Danish Mom Lisbeth living in a small town in Denmark: